05 Dec, 2008

A typical Wednesday for me

Posted by: Neil In: brody|melanie|neil

Melanie works part time now, ever since she’d gone back to work after Brody arrived. Her schedule is to work on every Tues, Wed, and Thurs… your normal 8 hour shift. On these three days I carpool with her to work. All 3 of us pile into the car and I drive to my work, she then takes Brody to the sitter and goes to her work. Needless to say, these days go by fairly quickly. So quick that sometimes it is all a blur. A few weeks ago I threatened to make an outline of one day. Well, I finally got around to it! Here’s a breakdown of my typical Tues through Thurs schedule. 

Keep in mind that all times can be “give or take” 5-10 minutes or so. We don’t quite have it down to an exact science just yet.

  • 5:00am
    • wake up
    • check work email (usually via my phone while getting ready to shower)
    • shower
    • shave
  • 5:45am
    • try to wake up Melanie
    • get dressed
  • 5:50am – 7:00am (the order is dictated by when Brody wakes up)
    • start putting our lunches together
    • eat english muffin with peanut butter, drink some OJ (this is done while doing the previous step)
    • check diaper bag to ensure it contains all items required
    • wake Brody up, if he’s not already squirming
    • change his diaper
    • dress him
    • bring him to Melanie once he’s dressed and ready to go
    • make us both instant coffee for the drive (Melanie takes cinnamon and brown sugar)
    • toast english muffin for Melanie (also with peanut butter)
    • load up the car: lunch bags, diaper bag, coffee mugs, any other misc bags
  • 7:00am
    • put Brody into car seat
    • load Brody into car
    • drive to my work
  • 8:00am
    • I get to my work
    • Melanie takes over and drives to the sitter’s place
  • 8:15am
    • Melanie drops Brody off with sitter
  • 8:30am
    • Melanie gets to her work
  • 5:00pm
    • Melanie leaves work to pick up Brody from sitter
  • 5:15pm
    • Melanie leaves sitter to pick me up from work
  • 5:30pm (ish)
    • Melanie picks me up from work, I take over the wheel for the leg home
  • 6:30pm (ish)
    • we arrive home
  • 6:30pm – 6:45pm
    • bring Brody inside
    • unload all of the stuff from the car
  • between 6:45pm and 7:30pm
    • Melanie and I eat dinner
    • feed Brody cereal or some jar food if he seems hungry
  • 7:30pm – 8:00pm
    • bathtime for Brody
  • 8:00pm – 9:00pm
    • Brody gets fed and falls asleep
    • this could go past 9pm if he doesn’t crash easily
  • 9:00pm – 10:00pm
    • do some random chores that need to be done before the next day
    • do anything else that I’d like to spend my free time on… sometimes I can last until 10:30pm if I really want to
  • 10:00pm – 10:30pm
    • go to sleep
Do some folks have it busier? I’m sure there are plenty that do, and I can sure say that I’m not sure how you could cram much more into your day. I suppose if you slept less that 6-7 hours you could.
Tags: , , ,

No Responses to "A typical Wednesday for me"

Comment Form


  • Bill: Thanks for this - had rough time with an SG90 today and this saved my arse.
  • Neil: @SM... great tips to make it simpler to connect. I think I'll be using them myself. I've actually been out of touch with ShoreTe
  • SM: Actually, You can telnet to shoretel switches from any PC you choose. (As long as you can see the switch and you have access to run ipbxctl.exe) Eithe

Flickr PhotoStream

Calendar